Home. PGW Biography. PGW Society. Join Us. Wodehouse in Words. Wodehouse in Song. Wodehouse Today. Reference Materials. Wartime Controversy. Quiz.

Quotations from P G Wodehouse are copyright of, and reprinted by permission of, the Trustees of the Wodehouse Estate © 2015 The P G Wodehouse Society (UK)

Website of The P G Wodehouse Society (UK)
P G Wodehouse Wooster Sauce Black Berkshire Pigs

Ian McEwan on short list for

Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction!

Every year at the Hay-On-Wye book festival a very prestigious prize is presented - The Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for Comic Fiction. Up for the prize this year is a shortlist of very talented authors including Ian McEwan for his book Solar. The other notable authors on the short list are: David Nicholls' One Day, Tiffany Murray's Diamond Star Halo, Paul Murray's Skippy Dies, and Malcolm Pryce's From Aberystwyth with Love.

Ian McEwan is not noted for his comic writing, but sees the funny side of his nomination - there are links to two articles below about this, which you may be interested to read. The first is on the BBC News website (click here); the second is on the Independent website (click here).

The Hay festival will run from 27th May 2010 until 6th June, so please watch this space for news about the winner of this year's prize! Past prizewinners are listed below:

2009 Geoff Dyer for Jeff in Venice, Death in Varanasi

2008 Will Self for The Butt

2007 Paul Torday for Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

2006 Christopher Brookmyre for All Fun and Games until Somebody Loses an Eye

2005 Marina Lewycka for A Short History of Tractors in Ukrainian

2004 Jasper Fforde for The Well of Lost Plots

2003 DBC Pierre for Vernon God Little

2002 Michael Frayn for Spies

2001 Jonathan Coe for The Rotters’ Club

2000 Howard Jacobson for The Mighty Walzer

For more information about this year's shortlist please click here.